Chinese Notes

The Analects of Confucius 《論語》

Also known as Lunyu, with English translation by James Legge

1. 《學而》 Xue Er
2. 《為政》 Wei Zheng
3. 《八佾》 Ba Yi
4. 《里仁》 Li Ren
5. 《公冶長》Gong Ye Chang
6. 《雍也》 Yong Ye
7. 《述而》 Shu Er
8. 《泰伯》 Tai Bo
9. 《子罕》 Zi Han
10. 《鄉黨》 Xiang Dang
11. 《先進》 Xian Jin
12. 《顏淵》 Yan Yuan
13. 《子路》 Zi Lu
14. 《憲問》 Xian Wen
15. 《衛靈公》 Wei Ling Gong
16. 《季氏》 Ji Shi
17. 《陽貨》 Yang Huo
18. 《微子》 Wei Zi
19. 《子張》 Zi Zhang
20. 《堯曰》 Yao Yue
Notes on the Analects of Confucius 《論語》 The Analects of Confucius 《論語》, also known as Lunyu, is a collection of sayings from Confucius 孔子. The date of the text is uncertain. (Yao, 2000, p. 66) Alternative translation to some sections is given by Chan. (Chan, 1969, pp. 14-48) References 1. Chan, W., 1969. A Source Book in Chinese Philosophy. Princeton University Press, Princeton, N.J. 2. Yao, X., 2000. An introduction to Confucianism. Cambridge University Press, Cambridge.

Source: Chinese Text Project, from "The Chinese Classics, volume 1", James Legge, 1861

Vocabulary Used

See the Help page for more information on the best use of the dictionary or if you have problems. Copyright Fo Guang Shan Nan Tien Institute 佛光山南天大學 2013-2018, This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. See About. Please send comments to

This page was last updated on 2018-02-14.